Sometimes, when the hullabaloo of the world gets too loud I retreat into a serene world lit by skylights

Escapism by skylight obsession

We’re planning to install two skylights in the kitchen and two in the study/lounge area. We’re going for multi-purpose spaces. And lots of natural light.

There are loads more skylights and kitchen ideas on my Green Route ZA eco-reno Pinterest board. Divided into kitchen, bedroom, lounge, bathroom, outdoor, you’ll get the picture when you take a look. Sections include Modern Barnhouse, Living Room ideas, Work Space ideas,

(Skylight Images: Pinterest)

Love the drama of skylights with the wood floors. We are planning to restore the parquet flooring in our house. My husband’s been buying up old parquet from around town so that the garage/carport floors can also have parquet floors (once converted to living spaces). It’s a slow process. He’s cleaning five blocks of parquet a day, takes about an hour to gouge off the sticky bitumen coating that was used as an adhesive when it was first put down. Then sanding all the surfaces.

Interested in our eco-reno journey? Read more here

We totes need to clean up our act for a plastic-free Mzansi

We really need to clean up our act and quit our dependence on fossil fuels. Single-use plastic is enemy number one so why don’t we see how much plastic we can eliminate from our lives?

Five easy ways to use less plastic

  • For starters, get yourself a tote bag. I highly recommend my favourite bag of all time, the Hemporium SA hemp twine bag made by the women at NPO H18 Foundation. Stash the tote with a bunch of reusable bags (this is what I do, it helps to have everything ready when I’m heading out the door). * Get 10% discount when you use the code: GRZA – see below
  • Buy yourself a keep cup and use it when buying a takeaway coffee
  • Buy loose fruit and veg when possible
  • Take your own container if you’re buying takeaways
  • Shop at zero-waste stores like Cosmic Bazaar: * Get 10% discount when you use the code: GRZA – see details below.

See my post about Breaking up with Fossil Fuel

Time to refill my Smokables supply

Smokables believe in zero-waste too and I arranged refills for my three little tins that I bought 2 months ago. Love it, zero-waste, plastic-free – a recycled jar filled with a lovely herbal blend including: mullein leaf, peppermint, mielie silk and lobelia. See my post : Catching up in the South “I enjoy smoking every then and now but dislike the smell and taste of tobacco. Plus it’s carcinogenic and addictive. But I’ve discovered herbal blends like the newly-launched Smokables brand. It looks like tobacco, burns like tobacco but it’s herbal. Give it a try.”

There’s lots more news but that’s it for now, live lightly.

Read more stories by me in Daily Maverick here

GET 10% OFF WHEN YOU USE THE GRZA DISCOUNT CODE AT COSMIC BAZAAR and HEMPORIUM SA

Use the Discount Code: GRZA when you buy any Cosmic Bazaar products online and get 10% OFF your purchase. This includes Canna Oil CBD oil that I’m taking, CBD for animals and zero-waste groceries. Visit Cosmic Bazaar’s online store here.

You can also use the discount code: GRZA at Hemporium SA online. Discount applies only to Hemporium SA own-brand clothing, accessories and cosmetics.

Tide Times

2 responses to “Conscious living: Skylight obsessions and cleaning up our act”

  1. […] In my last post I told you about the slow road to parquet reno. See Escapism through skylights. Here are just some of the blocks waiting to be cleaned. […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Trending